East Africa Community

East African Countries include: Burundi, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda.

East Africa falls into two distinct cultural regions. Sudan and the “Horn” nations have been influenced by the Middle East. Ethiopia was the home of one of the earliest Christian civilizations.  Sudan reflects both Muslim and Christian influences. The southern countries share a cultural affinity with sub-Saharan nations. Some Africa’s most densely populated countries lie in this region, which puts pressure on the fragile environments. Kenya developed an industrial base, while other East African economies rely on agriculture. The area is experiencing a considerable economic growth as with many African countries.


 Source: http://www.africanculturalcenter.org/1_4east.html

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *