East African Block

At the end of November 1999, Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania signed a treaty for the establishment of the East African Community (EAC). The EAC aims to create a free trade zone in East Africa and to allow freedom of movement across borders for the nationals of the three countries. By the terms of the treaty the three countries will negotiate the framework of a customs union over the next four years and thereafter, move towards the establishment of a common market.

The East African community is still in its infancy with very few tangible benefits to members or exporters to the region.